The Changing Seasons

The sun is shining for the first time in a very long time.  This is the time that my spring fever starts.  I know it’s not near time, but it always happens on that first somewhat warm sunny day.  Now I know it’s just a tease, winter is not over, spring won’t really come for awhile, but something inside my body doesn’t really know that.  I start with the little giggling inside me, that’s what it feels like, my insides start giggling.  I’m ready to go sit in the yard in my lawn chair with my Kindle and a glass of iced tea, but alas, it is still just barely out of the 30’s in terms of degrees.  I start to picture the blooms coming on the trees and bushes, I look in the flower bed for the first sign of a flower, nothing.  I’m so sad, no wait, I am still feeling the giggles.  I know it’s on it’s way!

I have to laugh because I go through this at the beginning of each new season that comes.  I can hardly wait for spring, all the colors! Then I realize it’s nearly summer and oh boy! Barbecue! Swim! Warm summer nights!  Oh I’m so tired of this heat, I can’t wait until the leaves on the trees turn, aren’t they beautiful? Oh my gosh, it’s nearly Christmas, my favorite time of the year!

I guess I could say I’m never satisfied with the way things are, I’m always wanting what’s next. OR, I’d rather say I just thrive on change, I’ve always got something to look forward to.   The whole cycle just thrills me.  It’s a great day to be alive.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love that description “the giggling inside” – wonderful!

    I actually noticed some green shoots poking through the dark earth yesterday and I got that same feeling!

    It has been so long this Winter and so much snow that the first sign of Sun and those delicious looking green shoots – starts that shiver of excitement – it is all beginning again!

    Lovely post. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ellen Beeton

     /  February 28, 2010

    Thanks so much Susannah. Yes I feel the shiver of excitement too. It’s another beautiful day here in the Ozarks. I think i’ll go out and play today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

