Turning Lemons into Strawberry Margaritas!

Hubby got me one of those digital picture frames for Christmas and just recently I loaded it up with great pictures.  I can’t keep my eyes off it!  Besides being filled with family pictures, pet pictures, holiday pictures and pictures of our friends, home and everyday life, it is loaded  with vacation pictures.  As I’ve mentioned before, we have traveled in 48 or our 50 states (missed out on Alaska and North Dakota, but we will get there!) and we also saw quite a bit of Canada.  Talk about being blessed!  I have been blessed a thousand fold by this opportunity.

I talked earlier about the severe blow that we received when I lost my job due to illness.  We thought at the time that life was just about as bad as it could get.  What would we do??  LIFE IS WHAT YOU MAKE IT.  I can’t say that enough.  We have choices, even if it doesn’t seem like it at the time.  If we choose to look at these so called disasters as opportunities for growth and as a good time to take a leap of faith, we just might have marvelous life-changing experiences.  This is when we decided to turn our lemons into strawberry margaritas, so to speak.

Here are Daddy and Sugar overlooking Bryce National Canyon in Utah,

This is Point Nubble, one of the many Lighthouses we visited,

and here are Sugar and Meeka at their “post” on the dashboard of the RV, their favorite place to ride!

and the picture at the top of my blog I took in Maui.

We have over 5,000 pictures altogether.  Such an adventure I will never forget. These experiences have changed our lives and our perspective of what is “good” in life.

When given the chance, I will always choose joy, I will always choose the positive approach, I will always look for the opportunities.  I have lived life both ways, and I can tell you from experience, having an attitude of gratitude, joy and bliss is the best.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Juanita

     /  March 5, 2010

    Cool Blog!!!

    Reply
  2. “When given the chance, I will always choose joy, I will always choose the positive approach, I will always look for the opportunities. I have lived life both ways, and I can tell you from experience, having an attitude of gratitude, joy and bliss is the best.”

    Oh, I am SO with you on that! 🙂

    I love what you say about us having choices, how true! No matter what happens we always have the choice of what to put our attention on.

    I love your story and photos and can’t wait to hear more about your travels.

    How wonderful it must be having your new photo frame with those constantly changing photos as a wonderful reminder! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Ellen Beeton

     /  March 5, 2010

    Thanks so much Juanita and Susannah. I appreciate your input. I think we are all like-minded. Isn’t that fun?

    Reply
  4. Great attitude – and so true!

    You can now travel, volunteer, spend more time with the kids and puppies – there are so many opportunities out there!

    Thanks for visiting my blog – I appreciate it. Your blog is great….!

    Sherri

    Reply
  5. What a positive, inspiring attitude you have and such a great reminder for everyone. Thank you for coming by my blog and enjoy every single shade of green you see this spring!

    Reply
  6. Ellen Beeton

     /  March 10, 2010

    To both Sherri and Jessica – I really enjoy your blogs. I’ve just started blogging and in doing so, I’m finding so many wonderful and inspirational blogs are out there. I never knew what I was missing! Now I’m hooked. I’m retired and even though I keep myself very busy, I plan to spend much time in the blogging world. Thanks again for your sweet comments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

