Finally in California

I don’t even know where to begin.  We finally got to California after two and a half days of a long monotonous drive.  The dogs were well-behaved for the most part. They couldn’t help getting a little cranky and surely let us know when they wanted to get out and stretch.  We started out as usual on I-44 from Lebanon, MO and caught up to the I-40 in Oklahoma City.  We usually go all the way to the I-15 in California and then south to Ontario.  It really started snowing heavily in Albuquerque, NM so we hung a left on I-25 and drove south to Las Cruces, NM where we caught the I-10 and drove straight in to Ontario.  This added an extra 200 miles, but it was worth it not to have to deal with the snow.

It was great to see the sunshine in Phoenix.  Other than one or two days recently, we haven’t seen sunshine in Lebanon in quite a few months.  The sun felt so good shining on my face while we drove.

Seeing my family, especially my brother and sister-in-law for the first time since we learned of my nephew’s death was very difficult, but at the same time, it just felt so good to be with them.  I am so blessed with an incredibly close family.  I’m well aware of that too and that makes it even sweeter.  I think we are still in quite a state of shock.

Our minister, Sue, talks often of how important it is to do our work to recognize the peace that we have within us and to develop a state of peace.  Life still happens to us and sometimes it just doesn’t feel very good, but we are so much better equipped to deal with these tragic situations when we can center ourselves and know that we can tap into that peace much more easily.  I surely found out that is true.  I miss my nephew terribly and I ache for his parents, daughter and all of us that feel the loss.  It helps to know that we are spirit, always have been and always will be.  We come into this human existence knowing why we have chosen this.  We know why we are here, what we want to accomplish and when we will leave.  As we age, we forget this, at least on a conscious level, but I believe that the spirit part of us knows all along.  When we are finished with this earthly body, we shed it and go back to the eternal spirit that we are, the essence of love, the closest to God that we will ever be.  This is what I believe and it soothes me so.

I am so grateful to finally be here and to enjoy my family.

By the way, I have been walking each and every day since I last wrote.  Sometimes just a little and sometimes quite a bit more than I had been doing.  I guess it depended on how long I had to walk the dogs.

Have a wonderful day and IN-JOY YOUR BLISS!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I am glad you had a safe journey and got to feel and appreciate the sunshine on the way. 🙂

    I think that is an important to tap into peace as it is true that “life still happens to us and sometimes it just doesn’t feel very good”. That is where our inner light can shine the brightest and help give comfort to those around us too.

    I am sending thoughts of love and peace to you and all your loved ones Ellen. x

    Reply
  2. Sometimes it’s good to hit the open road in order to clear your mind.

    Reply
  3. Ellen Beeton

     /  March 22, 2010

    Thank you both. Fred, how true it is, just to get away, experience something different. Susannah, I am doing my best to remember who I am and resonate with the peace inside me. I appreciate you both.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

