Life Goes On

It was a bittersweet day, yesterday.  Saying goodbye to Kevin was difficult, but the service was absolutely beautiful.  My heart ached for his little girl when she went up to give her daddy a bouquet of flowers.  Some of us spoke, but my brother in particular was incredible as he talked of Kevin’s life and the wonderful son he was.

After the service we went to my niece’s house for a reception.  We have a huge family.  There were the five of us siblings, our 13 children and their spouses, dozens of their children and some of their spouses and even some of their children.  Between family and many, many friends, there was quite a group.  We had lots and lots of tasty food, but if you knew our family, you would expect that. Some families have a bunch of drinkers, we have a bunch of eaters!

Well, life goes on and that is what Kevin would want for us.

We are staying in California until some time in mid May.  I usually don’t like to be away from home for more than 3 weeks at a time, but we have managed to load up our schedule for the entire time.

We hope to catch a few plays while we are here and maybe a concert, who knows. We are going to travel up to northern California at some point because our 10th grandchild is due in April.  We are going to Las Vegas for the Mother’s Day weekend which is a gift my son is giving us.  We are going to take a train ride in to downtown Los Angeles to eat taquitos at Olvera Street.  I’m going with the girls to Temecula for some wine tasting.  I’m anxious to see how that turns out!  I have the pleasure of lots of time with my 9 month old great-grandson. AND lots of family get-togethers.

The weather is superb! Lots of sun and more sun.  It couldn’t be any better.  It’s been a long cold winter in Missouri.

I am ever so grateful for life today.  My job here is to in-joy my bliss.  It’s a pretty easy job.  I remember who and whose I am.  I stay consciously connected to my Source.  I practice love, patience (which is my hardest), kindness, understanding, and forgiveness. This is what works for me.

Have a most marvelous day and In-joy your bliss too.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Glad to hear that it all went well – How wonderful that you have a big family to share with in times like these.

    Enjoy the sunshine and know my thoughts are with you and your family. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Ellen Beeton

     /  March 26, 2010

    Susannah, as always, I really appreciate you. I love having a great big, close family. I know some families can be exasperating and occasionally mine is too, but for the most part, we get along beautifully. Whenever someone has a baby, or is in the hospital or something like that, it is not unusual to have 40 or 50 family members in the waiting room. One hospital gave us our own waiting room when my dad was so sick and passed away.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

