Gratitude in the Midst of C%*P!

I’ve been living with an attitude of gratitude for some time now. I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately. Maybe because it’s November and so close to Thanksgiving, or maybe because I belong to this wonderful community on line called Grace in Small Things, where we write at least five small things each day that we are grateful for. Then at church Sunday, the message was on gratitude. It’s really true, what you concertrate on does become bigger and seemingly all around you in every area of your life. At least it does in mine.

I know how easy it is to be grateful for something wonderful that’s happening in my life, but what I’ve been concentrating on lately is to actually be grateful in the midst of crap! Or at least when it appears that life is not showing up the way I want it to show up.

First of all, I must say that my life is very far from crap. My life is really good and it just keeps getting better. But let’s face it, we live in this human world and things can’t always go the way we necessarily want them to. If that were the case, we would have sold our house six months ago and we’d be in our new home and closer to our family. If that were the case I’d be about 20 pounds lighter. If that were the case, I’d have tons and tons of energy each and every day. If that were the case, we’d have a huge savings account. If that were the case, oh heck, I could go on and on. But you get the picture.

So, what does gratitude mean to me. I have learned that gratitude is a powerful spiritual tool. It causes all good things to increase. It is an expansive feeling. Being grateful just feels good in and of itself. When I’m in gratitude, I can feel myself rise above any negative feeling. It turns sadness into joy, fear into love, and powerlessness into courage and wholeness. I’ve decided it’s a pretty good place to reside.

So, how to maintain that level of being grateful of all things in the midst of crap. For me, I first have to remember that there is a deeper reality than what might be appearing. I have to remember that daily apprearances are subject to change and probably will. I have to remember that Life is always giving us exacty what we need at any given time. Maybe what is showing up doesn’t really feel like a gift, but I need to remember that I can probably learn some sort of lesson out of the situation. I also remember that I need to trust, trust in the midst of crap.

The other day I had a situation happen that really caught me off guard. Somebody said something to me that really upset me. I could rationalize that what they said didn’t really have to effect me. I could see that it really said more about them than me. But for some reason I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I kept playing it over and over in my mind. I was thinking of all the imaginary things I could have said back, it just went on and on. Finally, I decided to just be grateful for the situation and see where that took me. After awhile, several things occurred to me, not the least of which was the fact that I came to this great realization – if this is the biggest thing that is upsetting me right now, I really must be enjoying a wonderful life. I had to recognized that my life is basically drama-free and I love it! Gratitude begets gratitude! I must say that I’m truly grateful for seeing that. I am always spouting off about living my bliss and how “at peace” I am. But this realization brought it smack dab in front of me.

Granted, this wasn’t a “big” thing. I’ve had “big, bad” things happen to me, but interesting enough, not since I’ve been practicing gratitude as a way of life. Or at least, things that happen don’t feel so big – and that’s a real blessing in itself.

So, Thanksgiving is almost here and I’ll be grateful on that day, just as I am every day. Grateful for my faith, my experiences, the divine wisdom that is always here (if I remember to seek it) and the my spritual journey with all that entails. I will remember that things are just the way they are supposed to be. I’ll be grateful for that.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Hi Ellen,
    Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment about the stray kitty I’m taking care of.

    Yes, it’s difficult to be grateful when there is a lot of bad things happening. Sometimes people forget about being grateful when things are going smoothly as well. It’s all a matter of perspective and what you chose to focus on.

    You missy – live in such a gorgeous place – how could you NOT feel gratitude each and every day!?!

    Reply
  2. Ellen Beeton

     /  November 12, 2010

    Hi Phyllis – thanks a lot for coming to visit! Yes, I think your foster kitty, Pumpkin is beautiful. I sure hope all goes well with her.

    You are so right, it’s easy to forget to be grateful when things are going smoothly. I found this great site, grace in small things, and it really helps to write down five things each day. I know for sure that it’s changed my life for the better. Have a great day!

    Reply
  3. Just wanted to send some festive wishes and love your way!

    Wishing you peace and joy!
    Susannah x

    Reply
  4. Hello from Istanbul! I have just stumbled upon your blog and read this post. What a lovely honest post it is. You sound just great. I hope everything continues in such a way that you can continue to feel grateful and act upon it.

    Reply
    • Ellen Beeton

       /  November 1, 2011

      Hi Claudia! Thanks for stopping by. I love chatting with people all over the place. I went by your blog and will now be following it closely. Love the pictures! Everything looks so yummy. I’m working on figuring out how my camera works and wanting to post more pictures. Take care and “talk” to you soon.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

