Sugar is not feeling so well.

Well, what do you know! My little Sugar Plum has Valley Fever. The good news is that it’s not contagious so Meeka shouldn’t get it. The other good news is that she should recover. The bad news is that it takes a long long time, could be as long as a year and a half of twice day medication. Hard to believe.

I notice everything my little “girls” do. Sugar coughed a few times last week. I took her right to the vet. He put her on antibiotics, but she continued to cough and lose interest in eating. Back to the vet we went. This time she had a chest x-ray. There was a quarter size gray spot in her lung. The vet says that Valley Fever is all over the area. People and animals can get it from the environment. It’s from breathing some sort of spores in the air. At least we don’t give it to each other.

Sick little girl, staying nice and cozy.

I’m sure she can’t wait to go outside and play again.

Sugar is a special little girl. She was born on 9/11/01. In the midst of tragedy, our precious pup was born. We took her home on 11/5/01, exactly 10 years ago today. I can’t remember our life before Sugar and Meeka. They are a true lesson in unconditional love.

Always remembering that Life is always Good, no matter what might be showing up at the moment.

In-joy-in my life!

Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Oh I do hope she will soon be feeling a little better, it is such a worry when our loved ones are not well. Give her a kiss from me. x

    Reply
  2. Ellen Beeton

     /  November 6, 2011

    Thank so much Susannah. I appreciate your support. I guess it just takes time, but I’m sure she will be back to old playful self.

    Reply
  3. Ellen, Just read about Sugar. I hope she gets feeling better real soon. I know what it’s like dealing with an under the weather pup. Sometimes it seems harder on us than on them. Have a great week.

    Reply
  4. Ellen Beeton

     /  November 7, 2011

    Hi Bobby! So good to see you. Thanks for stopping by. You are so right. I worry about every cough and strange noise that comes out of her. It’s been less than a week since she started her meds, but I’m hoping I see a change very soon. Hope all your babies are doing well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

