Abundance all Around

The holiday season is upon us.  Visions of sugar plums, turkey, pumpkin pie, Santa Claus, gift giving – soon turns into not enough time, not enough money and not enough energy. It happens to all of us at one time or another during the season.  I have to pay attention in order to not fall into the feeling of lack.  I can go there so easy – without even realizing it.

First of all, I tend to put such high expectations on myself.   I think it’s because I love the feeling that goes with having home-made, beautiful decorations, the perfect meals, giving the perfect gifts, planning the best surprises, etc.  I’m sure you know what I mean.   Right now I’m thrilled because some of my family is coming from California to have Thanksgiving with us.  I’ve planned my dinner over and over again.  I’ve shopped, I’ve decorated the house, I’m planning activities – will this be right? will this work out? will I have enough? will it all come together?  Even though I truly love the hustle and bustle of it all, I can make myself crazy.

This year, my plan is to stay centered.  I will forget perfection because the most important part, being with family is already a win in my book.  Most importantly, I will remember that I already have a truly abundant life.  Isn’t that what Thanksgiving is all about anyway – being grateful for what we already have?

To really experience abundance in the true sense of the word (which to me is abundance of ALL good things), I need to be AWARE of the abundance of everything around me.  Things I might otherwise take for granted.   I look in the grocery store and I see hundreds of apples, pears, bananas, potatoes – the list is endless.  I shall not starve to death.  I look in my closet and see way too many clothes, I shall not be undressed.  I look at church and see hundreds of people with beautiful smiling faces.  I shall not be friendless.  I look at my family, I shall not be unloved.  I look outdoors, I shall not go without seeing the beauty of the Universe.  I look at my little Sugar Plum and Meeka, I shall not go without unconditional love.

No matter what happens, I will remind myself that I live in an abundant universe. My life is abundantly blessed.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. livingalifeworthliving

     /  November 14, 2011

    I really enjoy this. It makes me think about what I am doing around the holidays.

    Reply
  2. Hi Ellen,
    Thanks for stopping by. My daughter and granddaughter came by yesterday and I saw them sitting beside each other and grabbed my camera. They have such a cool relationship and the little one adores her mother. I must have done something right even though I don’t have that kind of relationship with either of my girls.

    Your post is very accurate. I try to remember how much I do have while still struggling to stay afloat. It’s all a matter of perspective and point of reference. I am grateful for what I do have and know I won’t go hungry either.

    Take care,
    Phyllis

    Reply
  3. Ellen Beeton

     /  November 14, 2011

    I appreciate your comments. I really did love that picture, Phyllis – and in such a beautiful setting. I love moments like that. It was great that you were able to capture it.

    Reply
  4. wow what a great post! it is important to be thankful for what you have this holiday season!

    Chewy

    Reply
    • Ellen Beeton

       /  November 15, 2011

      Thanks Chewy! I hope while you were here that you got a chance to scroll down and see pics of Sugar Plum and Meeka. They are cute and adorable just like you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

