A Fantastic Life

Here is what happens when I take the time to have an easy day.  I find wonderful old pictures.

These are my grandparents – my dad’s parents.  This was taken on their wedding day in Glasglow, Scotland in 1908

My grandmother was 18 years old. I don’t know my grandfather’s age. I do know that he was in the British Military. I know they were both born in Ireland, were married in Scotland and lived in England when my father was born.

Check out my grandfather in his uniform.  What a handsome man.  I can see a strong resemblance between him and my nephew.

 

My father was one of four boys born to James and Dorothy Dynes. He was born in 1912. His brothers were born in 1908, 1910, and 1914. When my father was 3 years old, grandma and her four boys made the trek from Liverpool, England to Canada.  Her husband was still serving.  She must have been a very strong women to make this trip alone. After all, this was a mere three years after the Titanic sank, on the very same route.

My grandfather died by drowning when my father was 10 years old. Life was very difficult for Grandma with four little ones to care for. Because she was unable to financially care for all four boys, she made the difficult decision to send two of her boys (my father and one of my uncles) to a nearby orphanage. She would visit as often as possible. Here is a picture of her with the two boys on one of her visits. My father is the older on the left.

Eventually the boys were able to move back home, then made another trek – from Montreal, Canada to Los Angeles, California.

My father lived a very happy and abundant life. He passed away 10 years ago at age 90. I couldn’t begin to tell you all the many life lessons he taught me, but I know that my belief that –  life is always good, no matter what might be showing up at the time – surely came from him.

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Janette Merino

     /  November 16, 2011

    Your Dad was one of those people that has a presence about him as soon as you met him you knew he was good. That’s what I felt when I met him. David has that too. There are very few people I know who give off this feeling.How lucky you were to be so close to such a great man.You deserved him you know 🙂

    Reply
  2. Mary Ann

     /  November 17, 2011

    Wow, and we think times are tough now. I can’t imagine placing your children in an orphanage. She did what she had to do to survive. Great testamony to your family and a very interesting story.

    Reply
  3. Mary Ann

     /  November 17, 2011

    Wow what an interesting story. And we think we are living through tough times. I can’t imagine placing my children in an orphanage, what courage your grandmother must have had. I’m glad your family story has a happy ending. Very nice tribute to your dad.

    Reply
  4. Ellen Beeton

     /  November 17, 2011

    Oh Jan, you are so sweet. And you are right! Dad was a very special person, probably the most generous person I ever knew. Actually my mother was too. She passed before you ever got to meet her. Yes, my son David is very much like Dad, I think that’s because his grandfather was his role model. Thanks for commenting. I appreciate it.

    Reply
  5. I love the memories that flood us when we look at old photographs. The story of your father is very touching, and what a wonderful photograph of your grandmother, father and uncle. That must have been such a hard decision for her.

    Reply
    • Ellen Beeton

       /  November 17, 2011

      Thanks Finn, I sure appreciate your commenting. Have a great day. By the way, you are such a darling. I LOVE your blog.

      Reply
  6. Those old photos are just wonderful! My husband is a very serious amateur genealogist. He found that my great grandparents were married in Dundee, Scotland in 1872. According to google , the home is still at the address we found on an old will. Someday , we’d love to visit.

    Reply
    • Ellen Beeton

       /  November 17, 2011

      Hi Barb, it would be so cool to get into the genealogy of the family. I’ve thought about it a lot. I’d love to go to Ireland to look up people too. My father went there a few years before he died. He didn’t find out anything concrete though.

      Reply
  7. Thank you so much for visiting! It’s a pleasure to meet you! You are always welcome at Deck the Halls of HOME with JOY! Have a wonderful weekend!
    Love, Brenda

    Reply
    • Ellen Beeton

       /  November 17, 2011

      Oh hi Brenda! Thanks for coming by. I will definitely be Decking the Halls with you. Thanks.

      Reply
  8. Laura

     /  November 19, 2011

    Wow the resemblance that I see between Grandpa and Darin never noticed it before.
    Pictures are great thanks for sharing!!

    Reply
    • Ellen Beeton

       /  November 19, 2011

      Thanks Laura. I was hoping some of the family would see these pix. I didn’t see the resemblance before, but I sure saw it between my grandfather (in his uniform) and Pat. Do you?

      Reply
  9. What beautiful photos and such a wonderful story! Thanks for sharing it, I really enjoyed reading and what a strong and remarkable woman Grandma was.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

