62!

It’s my birthday tomorrow and I will be 62 years old.  Wasn’t I just 30?  It never ceases to amaze me how life just seems to fly by when you are not looking.  I’ve lived through good times and not so good times, and I have learned a few things in my 62 years.  So I thought I’d share a list (in no particular order) of 62 things I know to be true for me.

  1. Life is Good, no matter how it might be showing up at the moment.
  2. I have lived through things I never thought I could – I will always be okay.
  3. I have choices, always – I may not like my choices, but at least I have them.
  4. People treat me pretty much the way I treat them.
  5. It’s important not to set limitations on myself.  I am capable of more than I could ever know.
  6. You pretty much get what you expect, so pay attention to your expectations.
  7. Music soothes my soul.
  8. Dogs show us the real meaning of unconditional love.
  9. We truly are ONE.  If I hurt someone else, I hurt myself.  If I’m kind to another, I’m being kind to myself.
  10. Families can be a handful, but I wouldn’t want it any other way.
  11. It’s all in the way I look at it.  Attitude is everything.
  12. It’s not worth it to allow myself to worry and become stressed.  I’ve found out it’s better not to make that choice.  (Yes, it is a choice.)
  13. Two or more people can see the same thing and interpret it differently.  It doesn’t mean there is a wrong or right way.
  14. I don’t have control over situations or others, I can only control my reaction.
  15. The words “blame” (as in I blame someone) and “fault” (as in it’s your fault) have no room in my vocabulary.
  16. I do better and feel better when the sun is shining.
  17. It’s important for me to keep a gratitude list and add to it every day.
  18. My children and grandchildren can do no wrong in my eyes.
  19. Holding on to resentment is like taking poison and expecting the other person to die.
  20. There is nothing wrong with having abundant amounts of money.
  21. Keeping in touch with friends and family is my responsibility.
  22. Prejudice has no place in my life.
  23. It’s important for me to stay in the “now” and out of the “how.”
  24. When I let go, Life flows so much more easily.
  25. If I don’t get something I’m looking forward to, it usually means that something better is coming along.
  26. I certainly don’t know everything, but I can pretty much find out whatever I want to know.
  27. I love cooking, it’s always better than eating out.
  28. I’ll never understand new math.
  29. It’s the little things that count and at the same time, I don’t sweat the small stuff.
  30. Someone is always on my side.
  31. Making a decision to be a loving person is the smartest thing I’ve ever done.
  32. It’s my not business to judge others.
  33. Don’t give unsolicited advice.
  34. It feels good to send out loving healing thoughts to others.
  35. Everything is exactly as it is supposed to be at any point in time.
  36. Laughter truly is the best medicine.
  37. I’m okay just the way I am.
  38. To give is great, but it takes work to be open to receive.
  39. Beauty IS in the eye of the beholder.
  40. Taking drugs is stupid.
  41. Smoking is stupid.
  42. Okay, so the last two were judgmental, but it’s what I’ve learned.
  43. I am worthy.
  44. There is no room for jealousy in love.  You can’t be jealous and loving at the same time.
  45. It’s not only okay, but necessary to create healthy boundaries.
  46. When people are mean to you or complain about you, it says more about them than about you.
  47. Sometimes people just need a smile or a friendly ear.
  48. Chocolate coffee is to die for.
  49. If you want to enjoy the ocean, you have to leave the shore.
  50. If you take good care of your body when you are young, by the time you are my age, you will be very happy you did.
  51. Don’t take people for granted, it could be your loss.
  52. Nothing is the end of the world.
  53. It’s useless to feel guilty for other people’s feelings.
  54. Chicken noodle soup really does help to heal.
  55. It’s not okay to dress or make my appearance to please anyone other than myself.
  56. It’s not okay to try to make someone else responsible for my joy or happiness.
  57. It’s important to just be myself, everyone else is already taken.
  58. I will never understand the cruelty and bigotry of some people no matter how hard I try.
  59. I will also never understand why it is so hard to lose weight.
  60. All Life is a blessing.
  61. Forgiving others ALWAYS benefits me.
  62. Last, but not least, God loves me just the way I am.

So these are some of MY life lessons and may not apply to anyone else

The little dog in the pictures was “Ginger” the wonder dog.  Her Mommy and Daddy were very close friends of ours when we lived back in Missouri.  Ginger passed away a few years ago, but I have many, many fabulous pictures of her posing in all sorts of clothes and various situations.  She was truly adorable.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. have a very happy birthday! i am behind you just a bit! i will be 60 in the spring. there! i said it. wow! i was just a very sexy 40 yesterday! i agree with most of what you listed except for the sun shining part. i am so weird….cold, gloomy, dark days energize me! when it is sunny and hot the energy just leaves me! have a great 62nd!!!

    Reply
    • Ellen Beeton

       /  December 2, 2011

      Oh you’re not weird, just a little strange! Just kidding. I really do love rainy days, I just can’t get enough oomph to get up and do anything! Thanks for commenting. I appreciate you.

      Reply
  2. Oh My Gosh! I love your list. My favorite is number 19. Wishing you the Happiest Birthday every. I’ve said so many times that I wish I had known at 25 what I know now. Life would have been so much easier.

    Reply
    • Ellen Beeton

       /  December 2, 2011

      Now that’s the truth! I thought I was so “smart” back in the day. Silly me! The other thing, when I was a youngster, I thought my mother was so dumb. Interestingly, she because such a brilliant woman as I got older! Funny how that works.

      Reply
  3. What a wonderful (and wise!) list. ….Really great photos too. 🙂

    Have a wonderful, wonderful, birthday! xx

    Reply
  4. Janette Merino

     /  December 2, 2011

    I love,love love this list!!!!!!
    It just proves that you can always learn more and there are things here I definitely need to work on!
    Thank you for sharing!!!

    Reply
  5. I have a few years on you but loved your list and agreed with it so much! Have a Happy Birthday!!

    Reply
  6. Have a wonderful wonderful birthday! I admit, I don’t get new math either! I love the list. I agree with a lot of it too. We do have choices, and we can only control ourselves. Sometimes I forget that.

    Reply
  7. Very wise! We hope you have a great birthday!

    Sam

    Reply

Leave a Reply

