Christmas Sweaters

One of my favorite things about this time of the year is that I get to pull out all my Christmas sweaters and shirts.  I have been collecting them since about 1994 – the same year I started collecting my Christmas Spode dishes.  I have quite a lot of each.  So I’m really excited, the sweaters are at the cleaners, the sweat shirts, etc. have been washed and they are now hanging in my closet for daily use.  Well, my sister, who is over a decade older than I am called me to tell me she will not be wearing her Christmas sweaters this year because she has noticed that only “old” people wear them.  I tell her WE ARE OLD!!!!

Well, I don’t let that bother me, I put on one of my favorites and enjoyed wearing it to church this morning.

My granddaughter is hosting our family Christmas Eve party this year.  It will be her first time.  She is very excited and has lots planned.  She texted me and asked me if I could bring all my Christmas clothes because she is having an “ugly” Christmas sweater contest and not everyone has Christmas clothes!

Is someone trying to tell me something?

Well, I don’t care, I’m old and can do and wear whatever I want, right?  I’ll bring the sweaters though because I a good sport.  All I can say is that I better win!!!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Kim

     /  December 4, 2011

    Lol. My Auntie has a large collection too. She often gets asked to lend some for “ugly Christmas sweater” parties. She gets a little peeved. LOL

    Reply
  2. I have just one Christmas sweater. It says “I want it all now” with trees and holly decor. I am definitely old enough to wear it.

    Reply
  3. Janette Merino

     /  December 5, 2011

    I have also noticed a trend in who wears Holiday clothes.
    Here it seems like the Young (from newborn to around 12 yrs old) are really into the season and then the older group(anyone over 40 ) with men mostly in t-shirts or ties and the ladies in sweaters,turtle necks,vests,t shirts and of course accessories.
    This seems to be because the middle group is either too busy or has forgotten how fun it can be (or thinks it’s not cool)to spread the holiday cheer… (and it does make people smile) I love to see shops,houses,and yes even people of all ages enjoying the fun that this truly wonderful season brings!
    All of our winter holidays help me get through the cold days and leave me excited for festivities and visiting with friends and family which is what it should be…
    I also love to visit the huge nativity open house close by where tons of people loan their nativity sets out the week before Christmas and they are all displayed in one church for anyone to come and see !
    There are pieces from all over the world and it is so compelling to see it all, some of the pieces are Extraordinary and others are simple carved pieces or hand fired .They come from everywhere and I even saw sets from Russia ,or Ethiopia and are a great reminder to remember what the real reason for the season is….
    That being said a world without Santa Clause ,Christmas wear,and random acts of kindness would be sad to me…
    Keep wearing those beautiful reminders of Christmas Ellen! They inspire good feelings all around!

    Reply
    • Ellen Beeton

       /  December 5, 2011

      Thanks Jan. I think you are right. Some people don’t get in to the holidays as much as others, but we don’t really know what they might have been through or are going through. That nativity display sounds awesome. Can you take pictures and post them? That would be so cool. Love you lots.

      Reply
  4. LOL! Ellen, you wear your Christmas sweaters and wear them proudly! I have one and wear it every year! 🙂
    Thanks for popping in to see me and be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

    Reply
  5. Don’t mind those youngers and you go show em your vintage sweater collection.
    Belated Happy Birthday.

    Reply
  6. Happy Birthday! You are older than me ..so keep right on wearing those sweaters! I hope you win a great prize at the party! 🙂

    Reply
  7. Ellen, wear your Christmas attire in the spirit it was intended and no one can fault you! Christmas Eve at the granddaughter’s sounds lovely! It’s all about family!

    Reply
  8. PS: It sounds like you’ve lived the life I’m contemplating. I think I want to move to AZ when we retire (in maybe 5 years)…but I also want to live in a rec vehicle for a few years. Darn job is getting in the way of my plans! LOL

    Reply
  9. From Beyond My Kitchen Window

     /  December 6, 2011

    I bet you and your family will a a lot of good laughs over the ugly sweaters. Sounds like great fun.

    Reply
  10. Christmas clothes are so much fun!
    Enjoy wearing them!

    Melx

    Reply
  11. Thank you popping by!

    I love kittys! Wish I could have more than one cat!
    One day when we move, I’d like a pet dog too!

    see you soon!
    Melx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

