Home Safe and Almost Sound


Finally home and back to normal – at least what I call normal.

First of all, we had a great time in California visiting family and relatives, notwithstanding the miserable head cold and sinus infection I was battling, and still am a little.  We stayed so busy that I just didn’t find the time to blog and to keep up with all the blogs I follow.  I didn’t know how much I would miss keeping up with my “friends.”

All in all, during our time in California we went to three Christmas parties, a play on New Year’s eve (It’s a Wonderful Life), several dinners out with friends and family, at least three “game” nights, a few lunches, mini trips, oh my I could go on and on but you get the picture.  Even little Sugar and Meeka were kept quite busy while staying with our granddogs, Luke, Goldie and Biscuit affectionately known as “Bizzy” because she is always in to something.  In fact, this will show you what I mean.

Here she is “bizzy” with a green pen. Look at her little paws all green.

Here she is after playing in the backyard.

Anyway, I believe out trip to California was a success.

I was so sick when we got home, it took me days to take down “Christmas” which I didn’t bother to do before we left.  

Enough of that.  Today is a new day and I’m feeling much better.  The new year has begun and as before – I know this year will be even better than the last, which I think might be hard to beat.  I always think that, and then I’m always surprised at how great life is.  I know it’s a matter of my attitude though.  I am in charge of making my life just as great as I want it to be.  

Don’t get me wrong, crappy stuff still happens, I still get in bad moods or angry at Hubby.  I just don’t stay there as long as I used to.  I don’t dwell on the crappy stuff.  At my age, I have certainly learned that it comes and goes and I don’t have any control over that.  What I do have control over is how I react to it or how I handle it.   I also choose to look at life through the eyes of my heart.  It makes for a beautiful world.  I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, but I an always making goals to feel better about myself.  Right now I’m working on accepting others and not judging.  To be honest, I’ve been working on it for awhile.  I thought I had the “non-judgment” thing down pat.  Wrong wrong wrong.  I’ve been judging all of those I see “judging.”  I have found myself getting angry and upset that everyone isn’t as non-judgmental as I am!!!  What a laugh, right?  Who do I think I am???  Talk about getting hit upside the head with a giant board!  Sometimes I crack myself up.  Oh well, it’s the journey, right?

I also have some other things lined up that I’m excited about.  I have another sewing lesson scheduled and I’m going to make a quilted wall hanging.  I’d really like to make one for each season and just use one or the other all year long.  I’m going to try to get better at cake decorating.  I don’t see that happening without going to more classes, but I haven’t set them up yet.  I’m also going to check back with the local elementary school and see if they are still considering me as a volunteer.  I think that would be so much fun.  Most importantly, I’m open to whatever might come my way.  I’m sure there is something I haven’t thought of doing.  Ah, the adventure of it all.  

I think I’ll just quit here and go have some fun catching up on all my blog buddies.  

I hope you all have a very happy, prosperous and blessed New Year. 

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. welcome back! i still have my christmas up! it still makes me happy so it stays! glad you are feeling better and it sounds like you has a good trip!

    Reply
  2. Glad you are back and hope you feel much better soon. I volunteer one afternoon or morning(depending on the teacher’s schedule) each week at a local elementary school. I find it very rewarding! I enjoy it so much more than going to any kind of club meetings. I enjoyed reading your goals for the new year. I think they made so much sense. One of my goals is to try to find happiness in each day and be grateful for all the little things that make up our lives.

    Reply
  3. Pip

     /  January 10, 2012

    Thanks so much for your kind words for my health. I am trying very hard to get better. The medicine is making me feel much better.

    Your pal, Pip

    Reply
  4. Glad you’re home…and these all sound like wonderful plans! I know I love to be at the beginning of a new class, just about any class, though I found the class I took on beginning Spanish actually had HOMEWORK which was more than I was counting on given I was supposed to be ‘retired.’ Plus I really suck at Spanish. But still…it was fun to be active and learning stuff. That’s why going back to work after almost a year of being off was (and is) so hard. And why I’m excited that I signed Katie (the dog) and me up for dog obedience, and I’m still playing in the community band. Would take some art classes too if I could find one that fit into my schedule…sewing? Not so much, though I get what you’re talking about with the wall hanging. Should be pretty! Be sure to post pictures!

    Reply
  5. We’re so glad you are back and on the road to recovery. Sage thinks Bizzy and she could become good mud-wallow buddies! And I like the idea that you are working on a quilt! Can’t wait to see it.

    Reply
  6. Hi Ellen
    I hope you get to feeling better soon. I read about your trip and it sounded like so much fun.
    And I also read that you try to work on setting goals to feel good about yourself. I like those thoughts, and you know what? I am going to do the same thing- just like you!
    Get better and enjoy life- and thank you for visiting me again. Welcome home.
    love
    tweedles

    Reply
  7. Hi lovely lady.
    I love reading your story’s Elllen, Your photos are so sweet of your pet’s !!!
    Hoping you are feeling better soon sweet lady.
    Thanks so much for your lovely comments on my new Tablescape, and you have a wonderful week with your family.
    XXOO Diane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

