The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

Before I start, I want to let it be known that I know I’m in the minority.  I follow enough blogs to understand that most everyone loves it when the snow starts to fall.  I know there are those who can hardly wait.  I get that.  It’s very beautiful, but this old gal was born and raised in sunny southern California.

Enjoying the snow to me meant taking an hour to drive north up to the mountains and play in the snow.  On the same day I could drive either south or west and head to the beach and get some sun.  Or  I could drive an hour east and spend the day in the desert in Palm Springs.  I digress, I was talking about the cold wintry snows.  I heard from some of my friends back in Missouri that it is snowing – finally.  Even though I really love looking at the snow for beauty’s sake, I’d like to show you the good, the bad and the ugly of living in the Ozarks – according to me.  By the way, springtime in the Ozarks is absolutely beautiful.

THE GOOD – BEAUTIFUL GREEN OZARKS

Our backyard

The front

View from our front porch

THE BAD – again, according to me

The backyard

The front of our house

and

THE UGLY – THE ICE STORMS!

The fallen trees

It looked like a war zone.

Eight days without power during the ice storm was not my idea of gracious living.

We are spending our first winter here in Arizona, it’s a chilly 60 something degrees right now.

What can I say, I’m a happy girl today.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. I’ll join you in a minority. My days of snow are far behind me. I took the dogs to the mountains several years ago to play in the snow. One step and they gave me a “you’ve got to be kidding me” look and back in the car until I had the good judgment to get back to the valley.

    Reply
  2. Janette Merino

     /  January 12, 2012

    Alas you and I are in total agreement! I have no tolerance for snow…so much so that Elena has never been to the snow and now Ghianna…( I will take them I just don’t know when…)
    If it hadn’t been for living in Coarsegold,Jessica may have never known snow..(Which she loves)
    Snow is beautiful when it first falls and preferably only sticks half a day…or if you are snuggled by a romantic fire with some cocoa..but for me even then one day is enough.
    But the road conditions (along with the people who think they know how to drive on those snowy roads,coupled with no work, No power and being snowed in make my vote a no!
    I did however see a beautiful KoKo-Nut dog in your ice storms picture 🙂 and that made me smile….

    Reply
  3. I don’t care for snow either. Everyone forgets that it’s 4-wheel-drive…not 4-wheel-stop. >.<

    Reply
  4. We have a dusting on the ground this morning. No more expected. The way I’m acting you would think we just had 6 feet. I REALLY HATE SNOW!

    Reply
  5. Meeka

     /  January 12, 2012

    Happy new Year! Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to California.

    Reply
  6. I would LOVE to live out West!!! Sedona is one place I really, really want to visit!!! But…here we are in Upstate NY…facing several inches of snow…up to a foot. We are pretty used to it as we’ve been here forever. But, I really hope we can go south in the spring!!! I could totally do without the snow AND the ice!! The longest we went was about 11 days without power!!! That was the worst!!!

    Happy Weekend!!
    Jeanne

    Reply
  7. Being a Canadian (Nova Scotia) girl, I’m used to the snow. But I don’t like it – at all. In fact we got snow last night, that was supposed to be followed by rain overnight which “should” have made it disappear. Guess what? I woke up this morning so hopeful…..and no rain – friggin snow still on the ground. Arrgh

    Reply
  8. I just bet you are a happy girl at 60 something degrees! Go ahead, rub it in, lol. I don’t like cold weather at all!!! Don’t like the snow, and hate the ice, which is usually all we get if we get anything at all. Nothing falling today, but the high here has only been in the 30’s. At least the wind is not blowing at 30 mph today like it did yesterday. I have taken on a huge project with all of the painting, but it is not like I can do anything outside, and I get really depressed in the winter months if I don’t keep busy. Don’t mean to sound like a whiner, but I don’t like all of the brown, dead grass, no leaves on the trees, etc. It is just depressing, so I just tear the house apart. Have a great week-end, and enjoy your chilly 60 something degrees.

    Reply
  9. Snow to me is something I’ve to travel far to see / experience it and if I’m lucky there to catch the snow too. What to do? I was born in the place which is just next to the equator 🙂

    California is the only American state that I’ve been to and I love her dearly, we had a great trip there; the weather and temperature is just lovely (I was there in one of the January).

    Reply
  10. Pip

     /  January 14, 2012

    Thanks for all your good wishes for my health! We so appreciate your support.

    Your pal, Pip

    P.S.: Oh my gosh, that ice storm looks terrible!

    Reply
  11. After the amount of snow we had last year…we couldn’t get the car out for three days…I’m quite pleased we haven’t had any this year…yet!
    Thanks for taking the trouble to comment on my blog.
    Happy Sunday! :0)

    Reply
  12. Well, we just don’t get snow here and I do love to see it. But I would probably get very tired of it soon though! Your snaps are so pretty though! Just keep showing us and I’ll keep enjoying it and hope you can stay warm.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

