Quilting!

I went to my sewing lesson the other day and had the very best time.  I decided to make a wall hanging and actually quilt it myself.  Now, I have made quilts in the past, but I’ve only sewn the pieces together and had someone else do the quilting.  Let me see if I can find a picture of one of them.

This is my first one, although I didn’t make it wide enough.

Here is a close up. I really like it.

I decided to make my wall hanging with my Christmas fabric because I have so much of it.  I bought it a few years ago, for what I can’t remember.  I  didn’t want to buy more fabric because I have been spending a little too much money lately on fun things.  Anyway, this will be great to try on since I consider it “free” material.

These are going to be the borders.

These are my cute little triangles for the hanging.

I took me forever to cut them because I was so afraid I would mess them up.

Here is my stack.  I have to sew them together into squares.  That’s my homework for this week.

Don’t worry, it will look good when I get it done – At least that’s what I tell myself.

I’ll keep you apprised of my progress.

I have big plans.  I’m hopeful that it turns out nice and I can make wall hangings for all the seasons and holidays.  I have the perfect place in my home to hang them.  I only hope that I get this done before next Christmas.

These are my partners in crime.  Wherever I am, they are.  Here, we are in the office/craft room.  The problem is that Sugar always wants to be under the sewing table.  They are such mama’s girls.

Have a great day!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. I am sure it will look absolutely beautiful!

    Reply
  2. The hanging looks beautiful! Very impressive. I think you would like this blog!

    http://www.fullmoonfiberart.com/

    Sugar and Meeka are adorable! Such devoted companions!

    Reply
  3. Oh, how I wish I had the time and the talent to make a quilt! I have some beautiful ones that my grandmother made years ago. I’ve never actually pieced a quilt, but when my children were little, I did some “quilting” projects. I would buy “printed” fabric that looked like a quilt, mostly in panels, and then hand quilt them. They made nice wall hangings for the seasons. My mother still has one hanging at her house! But, what I would really love is to learn to actually “piece” the quilt. Can’t wait to see how your project turns out!

    Reply
  4. Janette Merino

     /  January 26, 2012

    I absolutely love quilts! I want to take some classes when I can! I think your wall hanging will look great!

    Reply
  5. I wish I could quilt, croche, etc. Can’t wait to see the finished product. Oh, and there is nothing wrong with being a mama’s girl. Sophie is most definately a mama’s girl, unless of coarse her daddy is home, lol.

    Reply
  6. tweedles

     /  January 26, 2012

    I know the quilt will be beautiful. The colors are gorgeous. Its nice to have a hobby and assignments for the week! (fun assignments)
    And mommas little helpers always make thing more special.
    love
    tweedles

    Reply
  7. I think your quilt will be just lovely! The fabric is so cute. I love the snowmen. You have such delightful helpers!

    Reply
  8. Pip

     /  January 27, 2012

    Can’t wait to see the finished quilt – I am sure it will be beautiful!

    Your pal, Pip

    Reply
  9. I am anxious to see the finished project. Happy sewing, and have a great weekend.

    Reply
  10. Hi Ellen,

    Your quilt is so pretty!! I think those snowmen are going to make such a cute wall hanging. I hope you’ll show us the finished product. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog, and I’m so glad you found your Mom’s rooster plate in the pictures. It is fun to look around there. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Denise at Forest Manor

    Reply
  11. We look forward to seeing the finished product! Love your mama’s girls!

    Reply
  12. Hi Ellen, your quilts are just beautiful and I love your little partners in crime!… I also love the newest member of your family in your previous post…well, I love all of your little furry babies!… xoxo Julie Marie

    Reply
  13. I love quilts! I have one on a bed in one of the guestrooms. I have a few in the closet and will inherit some of my grandmothers when my dear mother passes. They have a precious history!
    Yours is going to be so pretty when you finish it!

    Reply
  14. Thanks for stopping by to visit me!
    Your quilt is gorgeous, I love the colors!

    Reply
  15. I always thought I’d like to make a quilt…but then I remember I don’t really like sewing…but I would like to choose the fabric combinations and maybe do the cutting….can’t wait to see how your project turns out! And the pups, well they’re just HELPING MOM! 🙂

    Reply
  16. Oh, your wall hanging will just be darling! I love your Christmasy fabrics you’re using and I’m sure your little fuzzy faces help so much!
    Be a sweetie and thanks for popping in to see me,
    Shelia 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

