My Day at the Goodwill Stores

Guess what I did Saturday???  I went to the closest five Goodwill Stores in our area.  Believe it or not, there really are five close by.  Hubby knows where every Goodwill Store in the greater Phoenix area is located – as well as the Springfield, Missouri area and the Los Angeles County area.  He makes a habit of going at least weekly to the ones near wherever we may be.  He is a book collector.  He follows certain authors and tries to collect everything they have written.  We have about 850 hardback books, mostly first editions.   By the way, he also goes to libraries and used book stores. Unfortunately, when he finishes with one author, he finds another.  I don’t have any idea where this might end.  I’ll have to take a picture for another time.

Since we moved to Arizona, we just don’t have the room in the house for his books any longer.  So, we have set up tall book cases all along the garage walls.  Our garage looks like a library.  Right now he is reorganizing.  When we first moved in, they just went up on the shelves willy-nilly – so he has been out in the garage for several days now reassigning their positions and shelves.  It’s a good thing because he needs something to keep him busy.  We have been here almost a year and he’s finally getting to it.

Anyway, to make a short story interminably long – I decided I would go with him just to see what cute little treasures I could find.  I poured and poured through the household goodies and the dishes, wow, what fun it was.  I picked up a few items and I’m so super excited that I just have to show you.

I’m in the middle of preparing a cute little Valentine’s Day dinner table so you will see some of that in the pictures.

First of all, I found a red tablecloth and a white lace table-cloth to go over it.  I paid about $2.50 each and they are in perfect shape!  I think I just might do all my tablecloth shopping at the Goodwill.  Oh, such fun.

I don’t even know what the actual name of these three little glasses are.  They are long-stemmed, but for very tiny drinks of some sort.  I know I’m showing my ignorance here, but I’d love it if someone would tell me the proper names for these.  I just think they are so very cute.  They were 69 cents a piece!!!!!  I couldn’t pass them up.

Look at this beauty.  It was $1.99!  I couldn’t go wrong.

How about this adorable little scoop for 99 cents.

Isn’t it just the cutest little thing?

This was just too cute to pass up for $1.99.  Oh, by the way, you can see my two new tablecloths in this picture.

Here are my two favorite little treasures I found.  So very cute.

Lastly, I got this jar.  I don’t know what for, but I just liked it.  I know I can use it to something.

Can’t wait to go next week with Hubby to see what else I can find.  I think I’ve spoiled it for him.  He really enjoyed going off to the Goodwill without me.  I told him I certainly will not go every time.  I think that satisfied him.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. Janette Merino

     /  January 30, 2012

    Carfeful!!!
    It’s addicting! I speak from experience here so make limits and stick to them.
    Also have a goal in your searching for…
    Some absolutely unbiased advice…lol
    I think you got great stuff.As for me I am on restriction and not allowed at Garage sales and thrift stores till I get rid of some things… 😉

    Reply
  2. Janette Merino

     /  January 30, 2012

    oops.. *Careful

    Reply
  3. oh boy…i sure can get in trouble going to the thrift stores. i am now taking all the stuff i could not pass up back to them! haha! i tend to get really carried away! great finds you got!

    Reply
  4. Hi Ellen! I am so enjoying your blog! You have convinced me to go to Goodwill, the three long stemmed glasses did it for me, they are adorable. I love mismatched anything. I do agree with your other comments, I too have gone overboard and end up with way too many things. I have recently had to purge so I get to replace a few things : )

    Reply
  5. I love stopping by the thrift and resale shops from time to time. You just never know what treasures await you! I love all of your purchases!!! I’m looking forward to warmer weather when I can get out and hit garage sales, too….always a fun activity!

    Reply
  6. Wow! You hit the jackpot. I love resale shops. It’s always fun to search through stuff for that one in a million find! Happy hunting!

    Reply
  7. Great picks from Good Will. I go there but so far , I haven’t had much luck. It’s always fun to look. One time a found a years supply of “Sunset” for 10 cents each!

    Reply
  8. You found some real treasures there! Could those glasses be used for sherry maybe?
    Bella has been forgiven. :0)

    Reply
  9. I love the treasures you found! 🙂

    It gets addictive, you know – and before you know it you have so many pretty things that you have no room to move – I am speaking from experience. 🙂

    Reply
  10. Hi Ellen,

    Isn’t it fun to see what other people have given away for us to find!? Man – you really struck gold with those tablecloths!! Who wants to pay a ton of money when you can get them at GoodWill!

    Thanks for your recent visit. I hope you get to check out those bear cams eventually. I saw one of the babies today and OMG they are so TINY! 🙂

    Reply
  11. Pip

     /  January 31, 2012

    Great finds! My mom loves finding good deals!

    Your pal, Pip

    Reply
  12. Really??? What great finds!! The $1.99 piece I recognize but I would have to ask my mom the pattern. She has several pieces in that pattern and I cannot think what it is but its worth way more that $1.99. Love the tall jar also! I have been loving those for storing things in. I would love to have just shelving for books! We have no space in our house so we have books packed away and music at church. Hopefully, we can get some shelving built. Thanks so much for stopping by and for your sweet comments:-)

    Reply
  13. Hi lovely lady.
    I have found some real treasures at the goodwill !!! I love your tablecloth with the white lace topper Beautiful.. I see you have some Red wood Charger’s!!!This would be great for Valentine’s day table.. You also did good with the Stemware so sweet.
    I love your comments on my Tablescape !! I would love for you to do a Tablescape for Valentine’s Day.. I hope you have a wonderful week with your family and
    I hope you come back and let me know if you post a Tablescape.
    XXOO Diane

    Reply
  14. Meeka

     /  February 1, 2012

    What a deal!

    Reply
  15. You got some fabulous deals Ellen!! I think everyone is right…it IS addicting!!! My SIL goes to yard sales and vintage sales all the time…you should see some of the stuff she gets! I have a problem though…I end up with TOO much stuff!!! You sold me on those little glasses with the stems…LOVE them!! I do believe they are cordial glasses…for after dinner Sambuca or something like that. You had a great Goodwill Day!!

    Reply
  16. That sounds lots of fun there and I love your treasures! They are so beautiful.

    Reply
  17. Hi Ellen,
    Thank you for visiting! It’s a pleasure to meet you! I’m so glad you enjoyed the video. I understand completely what you are saying. It’s amazing how we have control over our attitude. Welcome to Sunny Arizona! Have a wonderful weekend!
    Love, Brenda

    Reply
  18. HI Ellen! Oh, you did good! I love all of your pretty pieces. I don’t know what those pretty glasses are for but I’d just poke in some little candles!
    be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

    Reply
  19. It is amazing what you can find there in Goodwill! We actually have a boutique Goodwill here in Portland…that sells designer and high end stuff. It’s a fun place to shop 😀

    Wyatt’s mom

    Reply
  20. A friend of mine took me on a jaunt of visiting some thrift stores and I couldn’t believe what treasures could be found! Some stores seem to have more than others but it is fun to go on the hunt. We have a Antique Faire once a month in our area with over 800 dealers (yes!) which is a blast to go to. In fact tomorrow is one of those days and I am looking forward to the search! I’m into Blue Willow china so I always try to look for that and of course bartering is in order.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

