Life Lessons and Other Stuff

I don’t really have any special photos that go with this blog post, so I’m just going to drop in pictures that either make me happy or make me feel at peace.

 I had one of those days Thursday that thankfully come few and far between at this point in my life.  I was just mad at the world.  Nothing was going my way and everything and everybody irritated me.

Even these two little sweeties.

What made it worse is that I know how my attitude for the day affects my day,  and I still couldn’t shake it.

Turns out, it didn’t matter where I went or what I did, a couple of life’s lessons were waiting for me.  Now don’t get me wrong, I already thought I had learned these lessons (she says sheepishly).

I WAS BEING JUDGMENTAL!

I thought I had that one completely under control, ha ha.  But the Universe wanted me to realize that I was completely out of control by putting things right smack in front of me that I needed to see.

 (Ah, now there’s peace to me.  Our front yard in Missouri)

Anyway, I was just running around judging everyone and especially those judgmental folks that kept popping into my life.  I went to a class at church and lo and behold, it was on the perils of being judgmental!

Okay, so now that I’m irritated at everyone, I’m not feeling very loving and kind – which is my normal nature.  I’m even disgusted with myself at this point.  I’m not being very forgiving either.

I tell Hubby, it’s not you, it’s me, but please just don’t speak to me because you irritate me!  He knew it wasn’t him so he just left me alone so I could work this out.  He’s really good that way.  He doesn’t take it personally at all.  Of course that irritated me at the time because I really did want it to be all his fault.  (Oh my!)

(Freshly baked cookies always make me happy.)

Okay, so now I decide to go through the checkbook and I find a $122 error and NOT in my favor.  Well, it doesn’t matter what else happened, just know that it wasn’t a great day.  My attitude was NOT shifting!  I was on the downward spiral and sinking fast!

Anyway, I decided to read and wouldn’t you know it, I picked up one of my spiritual books which was just sitting there by my chair.   Without realizing it, I opened to the section on Love and Forgiveness.  Oh my gosh.  I wasn’t ready to give up my lousy attitude at that point – but I had NO choice!  The Universe was yelling at me!

I succumbed.

I read, I felt myself mellowing.  I was feeling better but yet still bruised and battered from my day.

I told Hubby that I think some comfort food is in order.  He asked me what I wanted because he so wanted me to be happy again.  (Did I say he is great?)  He is naming off things like a big juicy hamburger, maybe some chocolate, maybe pizza?

You know what I ended up getting?  You won’t believe it, McDonald’s chocolate chip cookies.   Before you laugh, have you tried them?  You would think your mother made them.  Really!

I”m feeling much more like myself again.  I have learned, however, that I do not graduate the course “Getting it all Together.”  It’s just an ongoing process that never ends.  You know, that’s okay.  Feeling pretty much at peace right now.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Janette Merino

     /  February 4, 2012

    It’s amazing what the world will tell us if we only listen… I am so guilty of all of these things and more. I can only hope that I learn life’s lessons as time goes by…but I have repeats and reminders to get me through it. ( If I listen)…
    I am glad you are feeling more at peace with yourself and the world too 🙂
    *** Hugs ***

    Reply
  2. Ugh, so many little irritating things. The checkbook errors really get under my skin too, because they are never in my favor. I am glad you are feeling a little better today and I hope that you don’t have to make that McDs run too often (I like their macadamia nut chunk cookies personally) 🙂

    Reply
  3. I have days like that. We all do. What’s important is that you didn’t end your day feeling the same way. God got your attention and you got back on course. You are so right when you say “it’s a process”! It sure is….and realizing it is part of the process. Hope you are having a much better weekend!

    Reply
  4. Ellen, we all have days like that. Normally what works for me is a gratitude list. I know know one wants to hear that when they’re in a funk. Be grateful it was a 120.00 error not a 520.00 error. Be grateful your husband is so sweet and understanding, etc. Now that you feel better, I have to go make my list. Have a wonderful week end. Happy Super Bowl Day!

    Reply
  5. we do all have days like this. you just have to realize it is one of those days and go for it! get through it and feel better the next day! and if it takes chocolate chip cookies, then that is what it takes!

    Reply
  6. Hi Ellen. We all have the sort of day that you have described. Isn’t it wonderful to know that God never stops giving us opportunities or chances to change our attitude around? I am glad that you are feeling better and something chocolate always helps. Hope you have a great rest of your weekend. Thanks for your visit to my blog today.

    xo,
    Danielle

    Reply
  7. The yucky day….those days you want to soak in a bubble bath, read a book with music softly playing in the background…glass of good red wine….and everyone to be quiet and careful around you…yes…I have had those days. I am always glad to crawl into bed on those days and hope for a better next day!

    Reply
  8. It must have been a bad one if Sugar & Meeka got in the way! Glad its over with : ) Its always nice to have friends and cookies and a wonderful Hubby like Doug. Along with everything else I am going through Menopause, my poor family! I may need to borrow that book from you : )

    Reply
  9. I have these days, and they are not fun at all! I am soooo glad you are feeling better, even if you did have to eat a McDonald’s chocolate chip cookie! I know those furr babies are glad you feel better. They know when something is not right.

    Reply
  10. FABBY

     /  February 4, 2012

    Oh my friend, I’m so glad you’re better! I love the furry lil’guys, they’re so adorable, Sugar and Meeka. We lost our beloved pug Ben almos 1 1/2 yrs. ago…he was 13! Yeah, we all have those days, me, specially balancing my check book, what can I say. I loved your visit to my post and I’m so grateful for it. Have a nice and well rested Sunday.
    FABBY

    Reply
  11. Glad that you’re feeling good again! Isn’t it great that our happiness can just be found in some tiny little things, something small but great?

    Reply
  12. Pip

     /  February 4, 2012

    Gosh, I think we must be on the same wave length because I also had a really difficult Thursday – a mad at the world day. I watched a funny movie last night and it made me laugh and well that always helps. I am definitely still in the “getting it together” class, too.

    Kristin (Pip’s mom)

    Reply
  13. I think we all have days like this — even doggies!! Glad you’re feeling better! 🙂

    Woofs & hugs, ❤

    ~Bailey (Yep, I'm a girl!)

    Reply
  14. Kim

     /  February 5, 2012

    Oh my goodness Ellen. I laughed all the way through this post because you sound just like me! I’ve had days just like that. Glad you are feeling better.

    Reply
  15. Yep, I know from whence you speak! LOL! Often poor Katie is what irritates me, but usually if I’m already heading that way anyway. Glad you’re feeling better now! The pups HAVE to make you smile!

    Reply
  16. Woof! Woof! I hope you are alright now. Being frustrated doe snot help … pausing n taking deeps breaths before you proceed might help. Oh Cookies … Lots of Golden Woofs, Sugar

    Reply
  17. HI Ellen! I can certainly relate with you! 🙂 I’m glad you’re feeling better and your two little fuzzy faces would certainly make me smile!
    Thanks for popping in to see me.
    Be a sweetie,
    Shelia 😉

    Reply
  18. I don’t get like that, cuz I’m a cute, happy-go-lucky corgi 🙂 My mom, on the other hand DOES get like this on occasion 😦
    Glad you are doing better now!

    Reply
  19. Hello Ellen,
    I’m so glad you visited me so that I can visit with you, too. So sorry about your bad day, but I hope you’re back to normal now. I have never had a cookie from McDonalds, but I will try one the next time I am in there, based on your recommendation. Your little dogs look adorable.

    Reply
  20. Jeanie

     /  February 7, 2012

    I think days like that are unavoidable…..what amazes me is that I can feel entirely different about the same set of circumstances the next day. Our attitude can make a huge difference, if we can find the strength to adjust it to a positive place.

    Reply
  21. I get days like that too when everything irritates me and my hubby can’t say..or do…anything right,and I shout at the dog,I feel so guilty afterwards,but we’re only human and we all have ‘off’ days.Hope you feel an inner calm now.
    Still have snow and it’s very cold…talking of cookies,I baked a huge batch of choc chip ones last night.I wonder how long they’ll last?! :0)

    Reply
  22. Pip

     /  February 8, 2012

    Because we don’t know my real birthday, we celebrate it on September 11th so Sugar and I have the same birthday! Believe it or not, I will be 14 or 15 in September! When I was adopted the vet estimated that I was about 3 or 4.

    Your pal, Pip

    Reply
  23. tweedles

     /  February 8, 2012

    Sometime the universe puts things in front of me too- things that make me think.
    I do think that cookies would help me that’s for sure.
    I am glad you are better,
    love
    tweedles

    Reply

Leave a Reply

