Valentine’s Day Table

I love reading all sorts of blogs.  I read blogs on dogs, blogs on farms, blogs on beautiful homes, blogs on food and recipes, blogs on crafts and hobbies, and I have recently become interested in reading blogs on tablescapes.

  During the holidays, they are incredible.

So being the type of person I am (a bit copycat, a bit adventurous), I decided I needed to try this.

 First of all, the difficulty I found was that I only had a set of white dishes, besides my Spode Christmas dishes and my mother’s white china.  I noticed people  seemed to have a set not only for every occasion, but for almost every single week and in every color and pattern.  So being the type of person I am (a bit copycat and a bit thrifty) I headed down to my new favorite store, the Goodwill.

So, presenting my first tablescape!

Tea for Two Valentine style

I love candles.  I had to make and tie bows around the white candles because one had broken.  The bow holds it together nicely.

Oh, by the way, the red table cloth and the white lace table cloth were both wonderful finds at the Goodwill.  I also found the blue vase there.  I already had the cute little pink roses.   I had the red napkins, but I didn’t have any napkin rings that would go here.  I only had them for  Christmas and Thanksgiving.  I did, however, have these blue ones so I thought, why not put in some blue, hence the napkin rings and the blue vase.

 So now since I only had the white plates,  I realized I had to go to the Goodwill.  Look at these adorable blue-flowered bowls I found!  They were 99 cents each and they were beautiful!  I got six because you never know.

I had looked for some place mats but just couldn’t find anything I liked until I went to Walmart and found these lovely red wood chargers.  I loved them so here they are.

I guess I could have done a better job of showing my stemware.  They are from Princess House.  I used to sell it in the early 1980s.  I still have quite a bit left.

So pretty.

I’ve had this little tea set forever.  It is not complete, but I still love it.

I added this simply because I think it’s cute.  I put a red candle I had into my little crystal heart dish.  I collect these little figurines and thought that this one was the perfect Valentine’s Day piece.  Then I just pulled out my tin that sort of matches.  It makes me happy every time I look this!

 

 Well, that’s it!  My first (and very amateurish) tablescape.  I only hope they will get bigger and better and more beautiful as I learn this lovely craft.  I had fun.  I worried if you would like it.  Then I decided to just go for it and enjoy myself.

I already bought a cute tablecloth and place mats for Easter.  Yes, at the Goodwill store.  It’s going to be so much fun.

Next Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Wow Ellen, I think you did a great job. Your table looks fabulous. So now you have to host a Valentine’s tea party!

    Reply
  2. That is a beautiful table setting. I just love the placemats. Great finds!

    Reply
  3. Laura

     /  February 9, 2012

    Beautiful……I am so happy for you that you have the time to enjoy all of these simple life’s pleasures. If you go on my FB a lady that I know posted a valentine window that she makes out of cards another cute idea for you to view..

    XOXO

    Reply
  4. great job and wonderful finds! i am one of those people that has entire sets of dishes for not only every holiday but for almost every party i have ever given and now i am trying to get rid of them. not an easy task!

    Reply
  5. Janette Merino

     /  February 9, 2012

    Adorable! I am in Love with your tea set!!!

    Reply
  6. Do I have a deal for you! You do my tablescapes and I’ll cook for you. Your first tablescape is beautiful.

    Reply
  7. So pretty & romantic, isn’t it wonderful to have the time to enjoy the special moments in your life again! This is so sweet Ellen, you & Doug have a wonderful Valentines Day!

    Reply
  8. tweedles

     /  February 9, 2012

    You know how to have fun! And that makes you “special” in my book!
    I love your valentine setting.
    Do the furries have one too?
    love
    tweedles

    Reply
  9. Hi lovely lady.
    I see you have been having fun with your Tablescape for two!! Looks Beautiful for you and your Hubby for Valentines Day coming up. I hope you have a great evening with lot’s of love. Thanks so much for your sweet comments on my Tablescape. Have a great week and Happy Valentines Day.
    XXOO Diane

    Reply
  10. Ellen, Your tablescape is so pretty!! I also enjoy looking at the tablescape blogs. It’s always fun to try something new. I have to figure out one for Valentine’s day. You are an inspiration.

    Reply
  11. I loved your teapot, teacups and is the other a creamer? So unique! I am a blue and white dish person and my favorite collection is of Blue Willow. I always look for them at Antique Fairs. For quite awhile I was into teapots and had a pretty decent collection of all different shaped, colors, whatever hit that “ahhhhh” button. I haven’t looked up “Tablescapes” but when you feel good about giving something new a try and certainly your Goodwill Store has some amazing items for so little this could be a lot of fun. Maybe I should go check the one out that is in the next town from us. We have a thrift store here I could take a look at too.

    Reply
  12. Bichonpawz

     /  February 9, 2012

    What a wonderful tablescape! Great job! I have never been to the Goodwill Store. Actually, I am afraid to go. My husband says we are supposed to be getting rid of things, not adding! I understand there are GREAT deals!

    Reply
  13. I love your Valentine setting, everything looks so beautiful and sweet! You’re so artistic, Ellen!

    Reply
  14. You know, I need a teapot and I never thought of Goodwill..I wonder if I’d find one there. Your table looks beautiful!! How fun, too, to pull it all together from all sorts of aspects of your life. 🙂

    Reply
  15. Jeanie

     /  February 11, 2012

    Very pretty! I love that your created it with your Good Will finds coupled with some of your favorite things that you already had.

    Reply
  16. Hi Ellen,

    You did a great job! I am in love with your beautiful red and white tea set!! You made some great finds at the Goodwill (I like to be thrifty, too). Your blue and white bowls and blue napkin rings are so pretty. You’re off to a great start. 🙂

    Thanks for your visit and your sweet comments; I’m glad you liked the calendars. Have a great weekend!

    Denise at Forest Manor

    Reply
  17. Gorgeous! I can see a new career-in-making here.

    Reply
  18. Thank You for stopping by my blog and leaving me such a sweet comment! I’m so glad that both of us can enjoy those beautiful dishes 🙂 I got my set which is a service for 6 at a Flea Market for $20!! I just loved them and could not leave them on the shelf lol…

    I love your tea set! I also have some Princess House items! A friend of mine years ago was a consultant and I had a party. You did a great job on your first tablescape, I look forward to seeing what you do in the future.

    I’m now a follower! 🙂
    (hugs)
    Aledia

    Reply
  19. FABBY

     /  February 28, 2012

    Oh Ellen dear, I love your tea set, it’s so beautiful, who cares if it’s not complete. I love the dishes too, lovely. What a gorgeous tablescape, I’m loving it. Wow, can’t wait to see all you will do later, if this one’s the FIRST ONE! Enjoy your week.
    FABBY

    Reply

Leave a Reply

