Spring is Here and I am “Injoyinmylife.”

Spring is one of my favorite times of the year.  Rebirth, newness, time to start over and let go of the past.

I made a conscious decision around five years ago that I would set my intention every morning to live in JOY.  It must be working because I am certainly “enjoying my life”  so very much.

I am living the exact life I want to live.  Hubby and I often remark to each other how great life is.  It’s not that “stuff” doesn’t happen, because it does.  It’s also not that we have become complacent because there are still more things we would like to do, more places we would like to see and just plain lots more living to do.  We are blessed to see most of our family very often.  Those that live far away, well, we just don’t see them often enough.   We have so much to look forward to.  I wrote a post awhile back about the new twin great-grandbabies we are awaiting.  Well, so far we have found out that they are identical and most likely girls.  Sometimes I wonder, can it really get any better?  Then it does!

Here are some of the things that Spring holds for me.

1.  Continuing on my  sewing lessons.

I just finally finished sewing together my (for next year) Christmas wall hanging.  I haven’t done the quilting yet, but here it is so far.  Actually it’s so big, it might just be a quilted throw to go over the back of my sofa.

 

Here is the fabric for my spring table runner that I’m also going to quilt.  I’m going to sew it together and then quilt them both at the same time.

I love these fabrics.  It’s going to be so pretty.

2.  Retaking cake decorating classes.

I took cake decorating lessons a little less than a year ago and I didn’t finish the last one.  I was less than impressed with myself.  Here is a picture of my first cake.  PLEASE DON’T LAUGH.

 I’m pretty sure I can do better this time around.  No matter what, I will share my photos.

3.  Volunteering

This past month I started volunteering at church in the office.  It’s been 12 years since I worked in an office.  A lot has changed, but I’m having a great time.  I couldn’t ask for a better bunch of people to work with.

4.  Walking my girls.

 All I have to say is “let’s find you leashes” and both their heads pop up and they are ready to go.

5.   GET READY FOR SUMMER!

Should have already started this one, but I didn’t.  I need to lose the weight I always gain over the holidays.

I have always wanted a pool and we have one now.   It always looks so inviting.  I better start getting ready for it!

Here in Arizona, we are able to use the unheated pool almost 6 months a year.  You can’t beat that!

6.  Blogging

I have found this great community of bloggers.  I follow Doggie blogs, tablescaping blogs, home decorating blogs, craft blogs, food blogs, well, blogs just pretty much about anything.  I have learned so much about others and about myself.  There are some wonderful people out there and I’m so happy to have met you all.

These are just a few of the things I’ll be busy with for the next few months.

I truly believe that Life is ALWAYS Good, no matter what might be showing up at the moment.  Experiences come and go, some we label  “good” and some we label “bad” but  one thing I know is that these experiences are transitory.  Life, with a capital “L” is always Good.  God is Good. I believe people are inherently Good.  I keep a Good attitude.  I stay grateful and I count my blessings.  I look for the Good in every situation.  I usually find it.  Maybe not exactly when I want to, but I do find it.

 Just in case you wonder, the new header is a picture of the front of our home in Missouri.  Spring time in the Ozarks is without a doubt the prettiest I’ve ever seen.  I miss the green, but I have lots and lots of pictures to enjoy.   When I start to get homesick, I pull out the ones where the snow is covering everything and poof! no more homesickness.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. We agree! You are blessed indeed – and the best part is that you are smart enough to realize that you are and appreciate it! So many people don’t!

    Reply
  2. well, since you are getting 2 grandbabies and it looks like i am never getting any, can i have one of yours? we skipped spring and have august temps here which i hate! your quilts look great!

    Reply
  3. I love your positive attitude! That cake looks yummy, and that pool, well if yours already looks this good, can you come and work on mine? We usually don’t open ours up until May or June, but we could be using it now if it were ready. Have a great week!

    Reply
  4. I love your attitude. Hallmark had a movie a few years ago and I love what the title says about daily life. It was called,”The Magic of Ordinary Days.” Your quilts are lovely! I think being creative helps to have a very positive attitude.

    Reply
  5. Happy Spring to you too!… I love your positive thinking… I want to take a cake decorating class too… I bought everything by Wilton, but need some instruction… love your sweet pups!… xoxo Julie Marie

    Reply
  6. tweedles

     /  March 20, 2012

    I love your new header, and I love the way you think. Everyday is a new experience -right?
    So much to see and do. You keep very busy- you must challenge yourself to learn all these new things, and you do them good!
    I like that you like to have fun.
    love
    tweedles

    Reply
  7. Happy Spring to you too!!!

    I enjoy reading your posts and always love your attitudes towards life. May you be blessed with all life has to offer: to live, learn, love and laugh and do remember to celebrate each and everyday and be in each and every moment.

    Reply
  8. I love your attitude. Keeping that kind of positive outlook can help us in almost any situation.
    And I love that you are not afraid to try new things. I think your cake looks better than anything I could do! I can’t wait to see your next one.

    Reply
  9. Your good for me Ellen ❤ Love your Christmas throw, love your spring fabrics, love your attitude!

    Reply
  10. I could use a lesson from you on “joy”, being happy in the moment and seeing this is and should be primary to my day.

    May I just say your quilting is beautiful and I love the fabric choices for your Spring runner. I haven’t quilting in quite some time and my sewing machine died 2 years ago. I will buy another one day as I always was doing mending and sewing on it.

    Each of your list items…yes. I am taking the poochies out for a walk as we should have lovely weather today. Spring is popping out and the rain has passed for now.

    Your pool looks so inviting…take a swim too!

    Reply
  11. Your wall hanging is so pretty Ellen.

    Thanks so much for visiting the Back Porch. I was born in Lebanon and spent most of my growing up years there. When we are down that way we like to go to the “case knife store”, then stop at Dowd’s and pick up a catfish lunch. We take it to Bennett Spring and sit by the water. The Ozarks are so special to me and J too. He is a NE MO boy and has discovered the beautiful Ozarks since we married.

    Reply
  12. Thanks for your lovely message.It’s so refreshing to read your post today.You have a great attitude to life.
    I could jump in your pool right now! Love the cake…well done!…and those fabrics are very pretty.
    Enjoy the rest of the week. :0)

    Reply
  13. Love that you have all these hobbies! I can’t sew worth a bean nor decorate a cake, I think your first cake looks terrific! We’re hoping to retire to AZ someday too…and I asked someone in NM last year when we were visiting if he missed the green and he said no, there were so many colors out there if you looked…but still I wonder if I won’t miss it some of the time anyway!

    Enjoy your spring! Ours is starting to pop, really early but I don’t mind!

    Reply
  14. timchildress1

     /  March 22, 2012

    We moved from Chicago to New Mexico just over a year ago. I miss the green, but I know what you’re saying about the snow! Your Christmas wall hanging is gorgeous! I wish I had the patience to make something that beautiful! By the way, your cake looks great!!!

    Reply
  15. smiley39

     /  March 23, 2012

    Oh how fun, new grands. I so love all of mine and they have and are the joy of my life. Love the quilt wallhanging, gorgeous. I am so envious of your pool. The house we just sold had a fabulous one that I loved and enjoyed almost every day. We don’t have one at this house and only a postage size yard. You are so right the Phx. GW’s are fabulous. So much fun. Thanks for the visit. Hugs, Marty

    Reply
  16. Pip

     /  March 24, 2012

    What a lovely post and so very true. I like your philosophy that some experiences we label as good and others as bad, but life is good. That’s a very important message and so easy to forget when you read the newspaper or watch the news and see so many sad and negative things.

    I love your new header!

    Pip & Kristin

    Reply
  17. Meeka

     /  March 24, 2012

    Oh my gosh, you already have a Christmas wall hanging and it’s 9 months away. 🙂
    Love the spring fabrics, looking forward to seeing your creations.

    Reply
  18. That is a beautiful post. It is just wonderful. I have learned some of those same lessons. Once I realized that most of the time the problem is me and it is up to me to change my attitude, Well it helped so many other areas in my life.
    So does growing a garden and chopping weeds. 🙂
    Your pictures are wonderful. I am so happy to have got to meet you too.
    You have made me sit and think through the lessons you teach here. 🙂 They speak to my soul. Thank you

    Reply
  19. Love your blog…Love your attitude! We try to live each day with JOY as well. Life throws enough curve balls, so you make each moment count and look for joy in everything!
    Thanks for the smile and love your St. Patrick’s tablescape…your hired!

    Wyatt’s mom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

