Doing a little this, a little that.

I feel like I haven’t blogged in so very long, yet it’s only been about 10 days.  Time does fly when you are busy busy!

I made a quick trip to California to visit some of my grandchildren.  I actually went to southern California and picked up our daughter Karla and granddaughter Katrina.

Here is a cute picture of Katrina showing us her new engagement ring!

We drove up to northern California to visit daughter Jan and granddaughters Jessica, Elena and Ghianna.

Here is a cute picture of Elena, Jessica and Ghianna.

 We talked until our voices were hoarse.  So much fun.  It was just a short “girl” trip that was not long enough.

The day after I came home  I had to take Sugar Plum to have her dental work done.  She has not been feeling well.  Notwithstanding the Valley Fever, she has been nauseated and just lethargic and not wanting to play.  I just blogged about it recently.  When Sugar Plum doesn’t want to play tug o’ war, I know something is wrong.

 

 I had been told on her last check up last summer that we should be thinking about some dental work and certainly a teeth cleaning.  I was putting it off because it’s so expensive.  That is a no no!  I found that out the hard way.   What originally was going to take a little over an hour ended up taking about four hours.  Also, what was supposed to cost $375 came to just a hair under $900!  She had to have six teeth pulled, two of which had broken off and the gums had healed over.  The roots had to be extracted and they were so tiny and very brittle.  They kept breaking and were very hard to get out.  She had already lost eight other teeth, so with the six that were pulled I was afraid that she would not be able to eat again!  Who knew that dogs have 40 teeth!  Well, she had a rough time, but I’m happy to say that she is feeling much better today.

So now on to this week.  Believe it or not, we are heading off for another quick trip to California on Friday.  Our granddaughter, Summer is in her school play, Cats.  We can’t miss that.  So I’ll be sure to let you know how that goes.  We will only be gone a few days.

I have another sewing lesson tomorrow.  I will be posting pictures of my project once I get it fixed.  If you remember, I’m making a Christmas wall hanging.  I sewed all my squares and triangles together and we should be putting it together and quilting it tomorrow.  BUT, I somehow sewed in three  triangles backwards or upside down or sideways or something, because they are wrong.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be spending most of my lessons fixing my mistakes.  Oh well, I bet I won’t make that mistake again.

I hope you all have a very blessed week.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. yeah for the ring1 that is so exciting! sounds like a great trip! glad you are having fun! teddy has teeth like you can’t believe. chows have the largest cuspids of any other dogs.

    Reply
  2. Your “girls” trip looked like so much fun! And seeing your Grandchildren-that is so special!! You have a cute bunch of girls!!!! About Sugar Plum, sure hope she is doing much better now. What a pain for her and those who love her!

    Reply
  3. Wow, you have been busy!!! So sorry to hear that Sugar Plum still isn’t quite feeling herself. My oldest, Scout, had some dental work done last month. I was too afraid to ask how much it was going to be to get her teeth cleaned and any bad ones pulled before making the appointment! But, I was pleasantly surprised when the total bill was only $132. I never dreamed it would be so low because the vet where we used to live charged over $150 just to clean their teeth! She had six teeth pulled, but I don’t think they were very difficult to extract. He only charged $6 per tooth. We only recently started going to this vet, but I am so impressed with how he seems to care about the animals. And now that I know how reasonable he is, I’m sold! Hope you are having a great week, too….and safe travels back to California for “Cats”!

    Reply
  4. Girly trips are always fun. So glad you got away and had some fun. Poor little Sugar Plum. My Millie had 9 extracted a few years ago. Not fun and not cheap! Hope she is doing great now.

    Reply
  5. Oh I’m glad that your sweetie is getting better. My dog need to have some cleaning too, but he has some health problems that make them not want to put him under. So, I hope he continues to do ok. He’s eating well. Congratulations on the grandtwins! We have twin granddaughters who are 3 1/2! They’re amazing.

    Reply
  6. Teeth cleaning day is always the worse day of the year for me and yes, I also learned not to put it off. It’s so nice when I get the call that they have all come through all right with no complications. My imagination can finally relax.

    Reply
  7. Hi Sweetie…
    What a gorgeous share. A wedding coming sometime soon, a play to attend (always a good reason to go for an extra visit), and poor little Sugar Plum. That dental bill hurt didn’t it? She has the sweetest little face.

    I can’t wait to see your project you are sewing on. How fun. One day I would love to meet you for lunch. It would be so much fun. Many hugs and much love, Sherry

    Reply
  8. Janette Merino

     /  February 28, 2012

    You have definitely been running about! I enjoyed seeing you though and so did the girls! Summers play sounds great! That is Jessica’s favorite Musical so be sure to take plenty of pictures! We unexpectedly got Jessica’s car back today and are hopeful it will keep running it came back to us at the tune of almost 600.00 which is better than the 800 + we thought it was going to cost so I had already given up and thought I would be taxi service for Jess’ when the bus was not available… Thank goodness it got fixed! Now to have my brakes checked and a tune up o.0
    I hope Sugar is all better and give our love to Dougie 😉
    xoxoxoxo
    Jan

    Reply
  9. tweedles

     /  February 28, 2012

    Hi Sugar Plum
    It is me Tweedles. I hope your mouth gets to feeling better soon after all that toofys got pulled out, and I hope whatever else that is making you not feel very good- goes away.
    It is no fun to be sicky. I will send magic bubbles to you with healing thoughts and love,
    love
    tweedles

    Reply
  10. Have a fun and safe trip. Give Sugarplum a sugar from us and tell her we hope she is completely well very soon!

    Reply
  11. Whoa! You’ve been busy lately!

    California is the only state of the USA that I’ve been visited. We travelled from Palm Spring of the south and drove all the way up to SF and came back to LA for our flight home. We really love California, the sunshine, the warmth and the beautiful scenery.

    What a lovely time you had with your daughters and granddaughters. Have a safe trip to California again and all the best to Summer.

    Hope Sugar Plum is feeling much better now.

    Reply
  12. You have been busy! Poor little Sugar Plum. Hope she is doing much better. I hate when my baby puppies don’t feel good.

    Reply
  13. Hi lovely lady.
    You have a cute bunch of girls!!!! About Sugar Plum, sure hope she is doing much better now. Just love on her !!! poor Baby.! I would like to thank you so much for your sweet comments on my new Victorian Tablescape. I hope you have a wonderful week with your family.
    XXOO Diane

    Reply
  14. Oh the poor sweetie with all the dental work. Ouch for the cost too! I wish there was a less expensive dental cleaning that could be done. I know it is because they need to put them to sleepy time for awhile but honestly if it didn’t cost so much I bet you anything more of us would have our poochies teeth cleaned. I have never been good at the dental care but I did find these dental cleaning pads that the poochies don’t mind. Of course I don’t know how well in the long run it will help. Some poochies have more dental decay than others. Our Shelties have always had icky teeth while little Stewie’s teeth are great. I mean they aren’t like Tucker’s poochie whites but they sure look better that our past furfamily poochies!

    Congrats for the engagement of your Granddaughter too!!!

    Reply
  15. Hi Ellen,

    All your girls are so pretty! I’m sure you enjoyed visiting with them. I’m glad that Sugar Plum is feeling much better. Believe me, we know about the dental thing. This past summer, our “Scottish Terrorist” had to have either seven or nine teeth pulled (I forget exactly, now). He was so much more chipper after those teeth were out. I think they had been bothering him for months, and we just didn’t realize. Poor thing. That can also cause all kinds of health problems for our pooches (and people too).

    Thanks for your visit last week and your sweet comments about my Reynolda Gardens post. I’m sorry I’m so slow in replying. Hope you have a great week!

    Denise at Forest Manor

    Reply
  16. I just wanted to say hi and thanks for stopping in my blog My Field of Dreams. I will post pictures as soon as my soap looks like soap and not salad dressing. 🙂 It is starting to look a bit better. Congratulations on twins!!! That is so special. I have twin grand sons and I have loved every minute of it. Have fun coming back out to California, we are going to have beautiful weather this week. I love how much you have traveled.
    It has been nice reading through your blog and seeing all of the great pictures.
    Kim

    Reply
  17. frombeyondmykitchenwindow

     /  March 4, 2012

    Poor Sugar Plum. I always feel so sorry for animals. They don’t know whats going on. Your trips sound wonderful and enjoy the next one.

    Reply
  18. What a fun trip you had and I know you are looking forward to the next! But, how would you know Sugar Plum’s dental problems would get so much worse. I’m glad she is doing better…it’s hard to know when your dog or cat is feeling poorly. They seem to cover it up rather well sometimes.

    Reply
  19. Meeka

     /  March 5, 2012

    Oh dear, hope Sugar Plum is doing much better and is able to chew her chewies treats.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

